Mark Buckley – First racer to bring Brammo to a podium, dies

Mark Buckley. Taken at the Macau Grand Prix, November 2010

From Brammo’s Facebook page:

I am deeply saddened to report that our colleague and good friend Mark Buckley has been killed on the final day of the North West 200.
Mark, 35, was taking part in the third race of five on Saturday. Following the incident Mark was taken to hospital where he later died.
Brammo staff are devastated by this news. Our thoughts and prayers are with his wife Jayne and we extend our deepest sympathies to his family and friends.
Mark rode the #26 Brammo Enertia TTR to 3rd place in the inaugural Isle of Man TT Zero Emissions race in 2009.

Buckley was a great racer, and a decent human being.  Recently, I had been chatting with him on Twitter and he had offered to have the shirt, above, (which was a gift to me from JCAM, Brammo’s Hong Kong distributor), autographed by Roy Richardson, the rider of the #11 Brammo bike in the 2009 TTXGP on the Isle of Man.

Busted. He found me out – I’d been using a photo of him from the TTXGP as my emotorules twitter profile image for years.

His last tweet to me:

Mark, talking about the Brammo Enertia TTR.

And one of my favorite photos from that first electric motorcycle race on the IOM:

Riding past the fuel tanks that would not be necessary to propel him into 3rd place in the 2009 TTXGP.

And another.

Buckley, on the #26 Brammo bike, coming up from behind the #11 bike, ridden by Roy Richardson.

My thanks to you, Mr. Buckley, for the memories.  My thoughts and wishes to your wife and family.

Share

