Desperate Times, Desperate Measures

With the release of the 3D video of Steve Atlas riding his little butt off at Thunderhill Raceway aboard the Brammo Empulse RR racebike growing imminent, I began to panic.

Having waited too long to order a pair of anaglyph (red and blue) 3D glasses from a reputable mail order dealer, my calls to potential sellers proved fruitless.

Instead of continuing my futile search for these elusive specs in flyover land, I decided to take matters into my own hands and I go0gled “DIY 3-D Glasses.”

Triumph!  “How to make 3-D Glasses” had been addressed, already, by Wired magazine.  Unfortunately, it called for the purchase of “red and blue acetate “from your local craft store.”  Because my local craft store makes WalMart look classy, I try to avoid it.  Instead, I found, further down  on the same page, instructions for using a CD case and red and blue markers to achieve the same end.  Although I didn’t have a CD case handy (really), I found the next best thing: clear acetate.  And yes, red and blue markers:

MacGyver those glasses!

A few minutes later with the markers and some scissors:

Et, voilá!

Now, it’s just a matter of waiting on Brammo.  Should be on line any minute, right?

{INSERT PLACEHOLDER HERE FOR 3D VIDEO WHICH WILL ARRIVE SO VERY SOON}

Share

, , , , ,

