“All of the sportbike, none of the back pain” Brammo Empulse

After squinting at fuzzy pictures this morning, I finally scored two great pictures of the Brammo Empulse with the new upright handlebars:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gone are the clip-ons that made this naked sportbike into a cafe racer-style bike that had us older guys groaning at our weak wrists and achy backs.  When the Empulse debuted, about the only discussion that could be considered negative (beyond the usual, “give me Harley or give me death” and “how long of an extension cord you gonna need, ahilk, ahilk, ahilk”) was these guys who immediately began surmising about how one might put an upright handle bar on it.  Brammo answered fairly quickly that, when the Empulse begins production, it will come standard with uprights, not clip-ons.

So, beyond looking at something that appears one step closer to production, what do these photos show us?

One thing that popped out at me: gone is the omnipresent Alpinestars gear usually worn by the riders at Brammo.  In its place is gear by ICON.  Nothing is ever done by accident at Brammo (anyone remember the TTR racebike photo that CEO Craig Bramscher “inadvertently” left up on his computer monitor during an interview?), so I predict we’ll see more ICON gear and perhaps some more indication that the two are hanging around the same roller rink, timing their visits to the concession stand.  Maybe ICON will be the first company to commit to developing a line of gear specifically for electric motorcycle riders.  Who knows?

In related news, visitors to the Portland International Auto Show next week will be able to see this Empulse and maybe even hoist a leg over and experience its non-back-breaking comfort.  Apparently, on Friday of the show, there is a conference about Oregon’s charging infrastructure that might be worth a listen.  Looks like the Nissan Leaf will be featured, as well.

Share

, , ,

  1. #1 by David Herron on January 21, 2011 - 1:29 pm

    hm.. a proper cruiser style would be better, but.. the only thing I have to go by is my one bicycle that’s got the normal lean-over-the-handlebars frame geometry. (my other bicycle is an electra townie) I installed higher handlebars on it, and while I still have to lean on them it’s more comfortable.

  2. #2 by Jeremy (EmpulseBuyer) on January 21, 2011 - 1:38 pm

    I am really hoping Icon develops a line of Brammo gear, or even Empulse gear. They do have a line of Suzuki GSXR gear, so its not unheard of. Anyway, just about all my gear is Icon. Great stuff!

  3. #3 by sds on January 21, 2011 - 2:11 pm

    Those of us “old guys” with even older knees are still groaning at the perceived peg height LOL Bar configuration looks great though!

    Steve

  4. #4 by Richard Dort on January 22, 2011 - 10:59 pm

    Give me clip-ons or give me death. ; )

  5. #5 by Eric on January 26, 2011 - 7:23 pm

    Man, the new handlebars are perfect! Reminds me of my old ducati monster…. Didn’t Brian W. used to own a monster? These pictures certainly make me think so, as the riding position is almost identical. Thanks for posting these pics!

  6. #6 by jim on January 27, 2011 - 4:33 am

    *drool*

    love the new riding style. I can’t wait to own an Empluse!

    On a side note, did the name Empluse come from a famous theoretical signal; the impulse, aka the delta function?

