Translation, Please?

If you happened to be following me on Twitter yesterday, you already know that I received a box from Hong Kong with presents from JCAM, the folks who will be distributing Brammo motorcycles in their neck of the woods.  And you know that they neglected to put a “Do not open ’til Christmas” sticker on the box (not that it would have mattered, anyway).

The unboxing:

The box, with Luna, the devil dog, guarding it.

The contents of the card:

Card, signed by the great people of JCAM, a Brammo USB key filled with images, and an autographed picture of Jackie Chan

and, finally, the contents of the box:

Yes! A Brammo jacket!

That jacket is all kinds of awesome, by the way.  The HTC cameraphone picture does a disservice to it.  A much better picture of one (and an order form) can be found in the Brammo Store.

But let’s get back to the picture of Jackie Chan:

Jackie Chan, another Brammo Fan.

My daughter (who happens to be Chinese-born, and who happens to have taken Mandarin lessons for about 5 years) had no idea what Jackie wrote there.  Until I hear otherwise, I’m telling everyone that it is:

“To Harry – a kick-ass Brammo Fan.  May good fortune continue to smile on you, your family, your friends, and JCAM and Brammo and everyone else who deserves it.  Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy New Year, and Happy Year of the Rabbit to you. Jackie”

I know, it seems a bit wordy compared to the amount of writing on it, but I’ve always been amazed at how much meaning can be represented in a single character of Mandarin.

If you happen to have a more accurate translation, let me know in the comments.

And to JCAM: Thanks again to all of you for the thoughtful gifts.  It’s been great getting to know you this year and I look forward to a fantastic 2011.  Brammo fans on twitter should definitely follow the JCAM crew: @JCAMMATT @JCAMJAMES @JCAMFRANCIS @JCAMBENNYHO @JCAMTIN @JCAMBENNYNG @JCAMSUKI @JCAMGRACE @JCAMBRAMMO .  (I hope I didn’t forget anyone).  Oh, and @EyeOfJackieChan, of course.

Share

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by tcrpmg on December 16, 2010 - 2:20 pm

    That is really cool! How did you get involved with all of this?

    • #2 by brammofan on December 16, 2010 - 2:27 pm

      About a year ago, I started finding mentions of JCAM and Brammo in the news. It turned out that Brammo and JCAM were going to be working together in Singapore, Hong Kong (and some other parts of Asia) to distribute the Enertia. JCAM already had the Segway distributorship. Check out this search on my site: https://brammofan.wordpress.com/?s=jcam

  2. #3 by mtajudy on December 20, 2010 - 10:44 am

    Now, this is what Ive been waiting for!! How the heck do I purchase one of the jackets? Harry, you really do get all the cool stuff!!

  3. #4 by Susanna on December 21, 2010 - 3:53 am

    yeah, that’s a nice jacket! I would totally rock that. I sure hope it’s recycled polyester like the hats…

  4. #5 by SuperChan Blog on December 22, 2010 - 4:01 pm

    Are you referring to Jackie’s signature on the picture? Because that is just his signature. It says “Love Jackie Chan (fancy signature incorporating English and Chinese characters) and then a heart and 2010.

    Hope that helps

    • #6 by Brammofan on December 22, 2010 - 4:09 pm

      You just destroyed my Christmas, SuperChan.

      • #7 by SuperChan Blog on December 27, 2010 - 2:09 am

        My humblest apologies !!!! But hey you got a real autograph!!!

        • #8 by brammofan on December 27, 2010 - 6:22 am

          LOL!. I knew it didn’t say all the stuff I said it did. And I’m thrilled it seemed to be a real autograph. Thanks for dropping in.

  1. Hong Kong Police Take Brammo Into Custody « Brammofan
