Brammo News on its way?

I’ve been pretty busy lately, riding my Brammo Enertia to and from work, to the grocery store, to the library. “Honey, need me to go get/drop off/something?  Want some ‘me time’ with yourself?”  Basically, using any excuse possible to ride it anywhere I can.

But I’m not too busy riding to get a message from Brammo that something big is coming up — probably an announcement about a new model  . . . or models.

The above tweet, posted earlier today, suggests that something worthy of capturing on video is on its way.  That, in and of itself, isn’t enough to get me off my bike and inside, but some other news in read in conjunction with this tweet seems noteworthy.

Yesterday, allaboutbikes.com snagged an interview with the elusive Brian Wismann, Director of Product Development at Brammo.  In the interview, the following interchange occured:

AAB: Any plans for a sport-oriented competition-only machine?
BW: If that is what customers ask for then it would be foolish of us to ignore that.

and this:

AAB: Any chance we could see a dirt-specific, enduro or dual-purpose Brammo motorcycles?
BW: Quantya and KTM have more ambitions in this area than we do. But, if customers ask for it…

These statements, read with the knowledge that Brammo has already built two “sport-oriented competition-only” machines, namely, the two Brammo TTRs which it raced in last year’s TTXGP on the Isle of Man (one of which placed third) …

and earlier news that it had a scooter-sized bike in the works , lead to an obvious conclusion: one or more announcements are in the works.

Just in case any doubt remained, Wismann blew that out of the water with this:

AAB: So, what do you have in the development stages for us in the future (2011 and beyond)?
BW: A motorcycle company (or car company for that matter) cannot only sell one product and hope to be successful. You will see new products and continued innovation from Brammo in the future. We’re excited and you should be too! As always, Brammo customers will be the first to hear “the scoop” on new developments.

I guess his point is, if you want to hear “the scoop,” you need to be a customer.  Sounds reasonable to me.

Of course, I could be way off the mark here.  Perhaps they’ve developed a new power technology fueled by mud and dandelions that is 100 times more energy dense than their current battery system.  Perhaps they will announce another $4,000 price drop for the Enertia, or maybe they’ll state that the bike is appearing in yet another movie (my daughter is begging for it to show up in the new Twilight movie, displacing the omnipresent Volvo).

But my money is on the new product announcement.

Share

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by eric on June 22, 2010 - 1:59 pm

    Let us know as soon as you find anything out, Brammofan!

    anxiously awaiting news. 🙂

  2. #2 by Kevin Barba on June 23, 2010 - 10:19 am

    thats great news! (or hints) i am hoping for a dual sport or scooter like vehicle. I love the Enertia and all, but if somehow/someway a smaller lower price unit was available, It would sell like iPhones (or hotcakes)

  3. #3 by Brammo bike fan in Washington on July 7, 2010 - 11:08 pm

    Hi Brammofan,
    Loved the post. I checked out the Brammo. You might know David Murray a service technican. He towed a Brammo all the way up from Oregon just for me to test ride! I shouldn’t have read this post man! I’m stoked for an improved version! Just watch…it’ll get 100 miles on a charge, have regenerative braking and be 3000 bucks cheaper! Anyways its better for me to get some money together first to get my bike. Best of luck.

