Powercycle Diaries: Nathan’s Down

Just heard from comments on his blog and on his Facebook page that Nathan was in an accident and was airlifted to a Portland hospital.  Don’t know much more than this… just keep him in your thoughts and prayers and I will try to update with information.

  1. #1 by Mary Heather Hanley on November 28, 2009 - 10:17 pm

    Hey guys – talked to Nathan’s mom, and knowing him, he’d be more worried that she is comfortable than himself. The only thing I could think to do actively to help was to get her set up with a hotel and all that http://www.giveforward.org/idiot/

  2. #2 by skadamo on November 29, 2009 - 12:11 pm

    Man, I am sad to hear that. I hope Nathan is OK. Please keep us up to date.

  3. #3 by 9 of 30 on November 29, 2009 - 1:26 pm

    I was really enjoying this trip. I read that he has blood on the brain. He is in a coma/unconscious with a broken hand and a swollen arm. His mom and brother are with him for support.
    As a fellow Enertia owner, I hate to hear of anyone getting hurt on any motorcycle. I wonder if the bike’s quietness had any effect on the accident. But the car probably had its windows up so the lack of engine noise had nothing to do with it. Just the other driver not seeing Nathan on the bike. I ride as if I am invisible because people just don’t see motorcycles anyway. At twilight can be the most dangerous time for driving any vehicle.
    We are pulling for you Nathan!

    David

  4. #4 by Dom on November 30, 2009 - 4:15 pm

    From the comments at http://www.wednesdaynightdrinkingclub.com/blogs/greasyrider/index.php/2009/11/hey-baby-what-winks-has-3100-watts-between-its-legs/#comments it looks like Nathan is awake and fighting his way through. Thank goodness!

  5. #5 by brammofan on November 30, 2009 - 6:12 pm

    Yep… just heard he woke up, is off the ventilator, said Hi to his mom. Yea!
    also: see: http://www.wired.com/autopia/2009/11/the-short-strange-trip-of-nathan-abbott-a-cautionary-tale/all/1

    • #6 by jon on November 30, 2009 - 11:31 pm

      Damn that sucks– rear-ended by some lady going 68 mph. I can almost put myself in poor Nathan’s shoes. I was hit from behind on my (new) motorcycle while still in rush hour traffic by a lady who skidded into me at about 20 mph. I didn’t have it nearly as bad as Nathan– only had a broken elbow.

      I wish him a full recovery so that he can enjoy the new electric motorcycle.

