Thank YOU, Sargeant McMenamy

During this week of Thanksgiving we all need to pause and thank the brave men and women of our armed services for doing what they do so that us citizens can continue doing what we all do.  With that in mind, I want to share with you a recent email that Brammo CEO Craig Bramscher shared with me.  It’s from Oregon National Guard Sargeant James McMenamy:

From: James Mcmenamy
Sent: Wednesday, November 18, 2009 11:54 PM
To: Craig Bramscher
Subject: Thank you.

Mr. Bramscher:

I wanted to thank you for what your company is doing.  I’m in the Oregon National Guard, and currently stationed here in Iraq. I learned about your company on the Armed Forces Network.  I wanted to tell you how much pride I have in what your company is creating.  Not only are your products creating jobs, but you are creating Green products, in the state of Oregon.  I’m a welder/metal worker for the U.S. Army. I have to scrap (sometimes through the trash) on a daily basis, to create parts for our military vehicles.  I appreciate the fact that your company does the same.  I’m in no way a rich man, but if you need an investor, count me in.  Your company has my respect, and my thanks.

SGT James McMenamy

I contacted Sargeant McMenamy and asked if he had any pictures he could share with me.

MRAP

I got you some pictures to work with.  One of these pictures has me on the hood of one of our new MRAP’s (Mine Resistant Ambush Protectant) vehicles.  This is the latest and greatest vehicle in the military -that we get to work on.

The Punisher

The second one has me, and the “Punisher”.  We made the whole thing from parts from the “dump” here.  It’s part John Deere “Gator”, part Polaris, Honda, and Jeep.  All the parts that created the “Punisher” were going to be thrown away-Until we reused them.  That’s why I appreciate what Brammo does as one of their business ethics.  It’s too bad that people don’t appreciate what they have, and what they throw away.   All right Brammofan, It’s good to hear from you again.  Let me know if I get posted.  I’d like to show some of the soldiers what’s going on with Brammo.  Have a good one partner.
SGT McMenamy

The fact that Brammo uses recycled materials in their body panels, fenders and their aluminum frame, among other parts, has always resonated with me as one of those “extra steps” they take in making a high quality product that reflects their mission of “saving the world two wheels at a time.”  I admit, however, that I never thought it might resonate with someone half a world away who has to dumpster dive to fix Army vehicles.

Sounds like he’s going to be sharing the post with his soldiers.  Can you take a moment and let them know in the comments that you appreciate what they’re doing?

Thanks for your service, Sargeant, and please thank your buddies as well.

Share

, , ,

  1. #1 by SoCal Buell Riders on November 23, 2009 - 10:49 am

    Thank YOU, Sgt. McMenamy!

    It may not get a lot of press, and it may not make your work any easier, but there are a lot of folks stateside who realize the sacrifice that you and the rest of the guys in Iraq and Afghanistan are making to ensure that those of us back home can continue to live the American life.

    Ingenuity like that you show in cobbling together bits from scrap, and that shown by Brammo will lead us to the day when we won’t have to care about foreign oil.

    Thanks again to you, and please convey our heartfelt thanks to everyone in your unit!

  2. #2 by skadamo on November 23, 2009 - 11:13 am

    Great post Brammo Fan!

    SGT McMenamy, having 2 son’s and a wife now I appreciate what you guys do more than ever. Thanks for your sacrifice for our great country.

    What an awesome job. SGT McMenamy is like the real deal Monster Garage! How about an electric Punisher?

    Since we have the attention of a man in the field, I hate to promote Zero here but they published an article stating the military is interested in electric motorcycles because they can be carried on the back of vehicles without fear of a sniper shooting the gas tank. Have you seen any electric motorcycles in Iraq? The article ran on http://hellforleathermagazine.com/

    • #3 by brammofan on November 23, 2009 - 11:16 am

      There’s plenty of room to promote anyone here, whether it’s Zero or Vectrix or whoever. I’d like to hear about any EVs in Iraq, too.

  3. #4 by skadamo on November 23, 2009 - 1:36 pm

    Right on, I was kidding anyway. 😀

    Here is the full link to the info on the sniper / electric motorcycle info. It was actually referring to troops Afghanistan…

    http://hellforleathermagazine.com/2009/05/neal-saiki-sustainable-perform.html

  4. #5 by jon on November 23, 2009 - 8:23 pm

    I have mixed feelings about this story. On one hand, I wish that man well, I hope he can return safe to his family. On the other I do not support the war WHATSOEVER. The reasons for invading Iraq crumbled and yet we are still there spending MILLIONS of dollars per DAY. We have already spent almost a trillion in Iraq, and almost a quarter trilltion in Afghanistan. Think of what could have been done with that money. You could have bought every man, woman, child an Enertia…. 10 times over! Or we could have put solar panels on every roof in the united states. Or we could have had health care for everyone.

    Looking at the massive vehicle behind that man is disturbing. The shear amount of money to make the vehicle, ship it across the world, operate it, fuel it, pay men to maintain it, ship it back…… it’s mind boggling. I need to stop ranting. The opportunities missed makes my brain hurt.

  5. #6 by Dale Powers on December 6, 2009 - 8:55 pm

    Looks like I’m going to have to read up some more but this is a good spring board.

