Alan and his Brammo Enertia

Alan, sitting on his new Brammo Enertia, NYC. (Copyright 2009 Allan Tannenbaum)

Over on Asphalt & Rubber the comments are still rolling in on the article about Brammo dropping the price of the Enertia to $7995 (before federal and state tax incentives).  This morning, an Enertia-owner named Alan had some real-world experiences to share.  Here are those comments, along with some pictures he was happy to share.  (Note: although you will come to the realization by the end of the first sentence that Alan is rich — and by “rich” I mean so rich that he hires a professional photographer to document the delivery of his Brammo Enertia– he comes off as that rare creature known as a “decent, cool guy.”  So, he’s rich, good looking, down-to-earth, and pulls off the open-white-shirt look without a hint of the 1970s-coke-sniffer vibe. Damn… I hate him.  Except I can’t hate him.  He’s just too frickin’ cool to hate. Good thing Ms. Brammofan doesn’t read my blog.  Also, good thing that he’s married.)

Alan says:

I own over 130 motos. I ride every day. I built a single-family HOUSE in Manhattan so I could ride bikes in and out of my own (clean) garage, and have a hose, and tools; among other reasons.  🙂

(Hey… I warned you.)

I collect Italian sport and (250GP) race bikes . I ride KTM’s in NYC because they relish in the abuse of steel plates and depressed sections of ALWAYS-under-construction-pavement and Tribeca cobblestones….curbs….you get the picture.

I have had my Enertia for nearly a month. It makes me ride more than EVER. There are so many times I would have WALKED 3 blocks for mediocre pizza – and not fired up a Katoom , warmed it up , “rumbled” my own house with toddlers sleeping , and my neighbors – JUST to go 13 blocks for KILLER PIZZA.

But with an Enertia….you do. It’s so insanely effortless it literally begs you to ride it.

From left to right: Alan's Helmet Valet, Craig Bramscher, Alan, some random dude, and John Farris, of Brammo. (Copyright 2009, Allan Tannenbaum)

While curbing emissions and foreign fuel dependency…..it may inadvertantly contribute to obesity. Because you never want to walk anywhere anymore EVER with this thing 😉 It’s like walking and running and riding a bicycle but not sweating , and like riding a motorycle out of some futuristic movie. The next version would have to hover 6 inches OVER the pavement to get people more excited 🙂

People freak over it and start chatting with you at every pause…because they dig the bike of course…and because THEY CAN. ( eg : you can actually talk to someone).

If you’re SINGLE/social ….and live anywhere near an urban or  “downtown” center….or , the apotheosis : in South Beach in Miami…..forget it ! It would be insane. You’d basically get to say “hi” to every single person you know on the beach…in like 13 minutes.

Enertia in Motion (Copyright 2009 Allan Tannenbaum) (It turns out that this and the next picture are of Matt Cokeley, of Popular Science Magazine. All these photos were taken on the day the Enertia was shown on Good Morning America)

I spent 6 months down there 2 years ago with a Benelli TnT, an Italjet scooter , and a Specialized MTB. I used the bike and scoot around 5 times each mostly out of neglect-guilt (and because I humped them DOWN there ) – and rode the bicycle every day. All of Florida is flat and you interact with everyone in a really pleasant way.

If I were to do it again (in say 16 years when I’m not a NYC school parent 😉 I’d only bring the Enertia. I realize that’s a long-winded way of saying “the bike would be fun at the beach.”

But motorcycles are visceral, lifestyle-shaping things. Does it feel weird to have no rumble? Yeah, for perhaps 4 minutes. Is it SUPER fun to hear the surf crash, talk, listen to what’s going on around you instead of being in sonic-rumble-isolation-bubble? Yes , it does.

At 12 grand this thing was a cute Tesla-on-2-wheels for the  “I’m so green” types who weren’t afraid of tandem-wheeled vehicles.
At $7995 minus $800 from the Feds – minus state taxes – minus a $200 Best Buy gift card through year end….it’s like a $6500 no-brainer that saves you money every time you use it.

And lastly – the belly looks low ( it does have a low CofG) but I hop 6″ granite curbs on it every single day and have never come CLOSE to a belly scrape. Unlike that Zero bike and others – it’s not a beefed-up mountain bike. It has real Brembo brakes and real suspension and real torque and you can ride it as aggressively as any (urban) supermoto really – without LOOKING like another rehashed dirtbike.

I do NOT work for Brammo as I hope you have figured out. I have just been following this project since its inception – as a result of being a customer of Brammo’s previous venture – The US version of the Ariel Atom , which I enjoy very much and drive on street and track.

(Added later, today)

As many a thumper and twin-rider will attest – it’s all about the TORQUE for urban and suburban cut’n’thrust riding. It has to win 1000 Stoplight GP’s to be fun and feel safe…..not a lap of Daytona…..and it does.

One thing that has continually impressed me with Bramscher / Brammo is that they CONSISTENTLY under-promise and over-deliver. In terms of range , top speed etc.

So yes – the speed , quickness , plush yet sporting suspension , BRAKES , all awesome. Range too. Since I’m a real urbanite my trips are often just 15 or 20 block round trip errands. I have done 20 over a period of 10 days and never looked at the wall receptacle let alone plugged the bike in – and at the end of the ten days it still has 60% power.

THAT to me is cool. Plus I’m used to ICE euro bikes and cars that kill their own batteries just SITTING. This power meter doesn’t budge when the bike is sitting for 3 days or more.

Alan and Craig (Copyright 2009 Allan Tannenbaum)

I cannot attest to how hills sap range or power – I have no hills in NYC with which to gauge.

At 12k my thought ( not just for me – in general ) was  “Maybe I’ll wait for version 2.0.″

For 7 grand? It’s exactly as much bike as you’d demand for the money. You COULD buy an SV650 or Gladius. But who cares. They are both great values ……but not gonna change your life. This bike is a bit transformational; even though that seems like a bold statement.

Of course you’re not going to buy this if you need your ONE BIKE to go 80 miles on the freeway every Friday to your country cabin, after spending the whole week commuting.

In America however, I really don’t know one guy who does all that on one bike anyway.
maybe 1-2 online moto buddies that also own KTM Adventure giant Dakar replica bikes.
They are suprisingly versatile and could do “all the above.” But they are like riding horses – you need a ladder to get in the saddle – and parking them is a 400lb sweat inducing hassle.

In NYC we park on sidewalks because paralell-parkers knock curbside bikes over, every time. when I pull a KTM onto the curb – oftentimes a shop or cafe owner will look at me in a disparaging way. Sometimes even as unfriendly a glare as to make you wonder if he’d TRY and get it towed.

With this – the reaction is antithetical. ” Is that electric ? Do you want to park it IN my store ?”

THAT stuff cracks me up. IF YOU TEST ONE FOR MORE THAN 2 MINS expect, to buy it 🙂

Here’s a pic of some of Alan’s bikes in what he calls their “temporary home.”  If you’re interested, click on through to his home page and explore more reasons why you might want to be him, why you’re not him, and why you’ll never be him.  But hey, he uses smilies.

Oh crap... this is only about 1/5 of his collection. DON'T CLICK!

Share

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by skadamo on November 19, 2009 - 4:08 pm

    Nice! I was drafting something out to post on but you did a much better job.

    Love this quote. I’ll be dropping that in forums. I’ve been trying to say the same thing but Alan explains it much better. 😀

    For 7 grand? It’s exactly as much bike as you’d demand for the money. You COULD buy an SV650 or Gladius. But who cares. They are both great values ……but not gonna change your life. This bike is a bit transformational; even though that seems like a bold statement.

  2. #2 by brammofan on November 19, 2009 - 4:14 pm

    Hey, don’t stop drafting and publishing just because I pushed “publish” first. There’s plenty of room in this town for both of us.

    What do you think of his collection?

  3. #3 by Ron Arnold on November 20, 2009 - 8:45 am

    I can’t wait until John and Craig hand-deliver my Enertia! I still need to hire a helmet valet though, so it might be a while before I place the order.

  1. For Enertia Owners – Charging, Clarified « Brammofan
  2. Brammofan-tasy: Lowest Out-Of-Pocket on a Brammo Enertia (hint: move to Colorado) « Brammofan
  3. “Hey, I crashed my Enertia” « Brammofan
  4. “Brammos prevent simple conversation” « Brammofan
  5. Bostrom on a Brammo « Brammofan
  6. Brammo Enertia FTW « Brammofan
