He who hesitates is lost

San Carlos, California, E-Day + 1

(update… below)

That, my friends, is a photo sent to me by one of the BrammoBrigade Regulars.  He claims it is a picture of the display stand for the Enertia at the San Carlos, California Best Buy store.  The store, which finally got its certification as a motorcycle dealer midday yesterday, immediately sold all three of its Enertias from its stock room, and sold the “floor model” to another customer early this afternoon.  “Bob the Bike Guy” at the store couldn’t be reached at the time of this post, but I hope to talk to him later tonight or possibly tomorrow to get the background.

Calls to other Best Buy stores resulted in similar stories.  The Cascades Parkway Store sold its bikes, but does have the floor model.  They have eight more coming from Brammo . . . but they are all sold. I asked David the helpful EV guy how long it would take to get one if I told him I wanted one today, and he said “one to two weeks.”

If you wait any longer it becomes a matter of a simple equation:

inertiaEnertia

Just in case you think its a bunch of hype/buzz/bull, recall the post from earlier today.  If it starts selling in China, those wait times are likely to increase.  The last I heard, they have eleventy billion people over there.

UPDATE:

Here is a picture of Michael.  Michael is a happy man.  He just bought one of the bikes from Best Buy in San Carlos:

The only thing Michael is worried about is the moment when his wife discovers that the bike only seats one adult.

Share

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Steve on November 17, 2009 - 8:23 pm

    Darn! That’s my color too! Grrrrr….. must breath, must breath now! Lucky bloke!

    • #2 by Michael on November 18, 2009 - 8:27 pm

      That’s me in the pic. I saw that color on Brian’s and thought it looked a lot better than on the Brammo site. He sent it down and they had it all installed for me before they got their licensing paperwork finished. That is the first bike they sold @ San Carlos.

      When I picked it up they were prepping one in orange.

  2. #3 by jpm on November 18, 2009 - 1:43 am

    Sounds like the Enteria is off to a good start… congrats to Brammo!

    Let’s hope sales will drive the price down and increase performance. I still think they’ve got a few more leaps to go before the average motorcyclist sees this bike as a truly viable option– i.e., 22 miles on the highway at 50mph is not gonna cut the mustard.

    • #4 by BrammoBrian on November 18, 2009 - 9:48 am

      jpm,

      The top speed of the bike is over 60mph, so… your post should read: “22 miles on the highway at 60-65 mph is not gonna cut the mustard.”

      This is exactly the ride that many of our test engineers do on a daily basis as they commute 30 miles one way from Medford into Ashland.

      If you agree to continue to support the concept of what our company is doing, rather than being a “hater”, then I’ll promise to keep working on a product that ultimately satisfies your requirements and makes you a customer. Deal?

      -Brian.

  3. #5 by brammofan on November 18, 2009 - 6:30 am

    Performance (speed and range) is certainly going to increase along with advances in battery technology. And sure, sales will likely drive the price down further — although much of the price depends on the price of the batteries themselves. This bike, however, has never been targeted toward the “average motorcyclist.” That’s one of the reasons they are sold at Best Buy instead of your local moto shop.

  4. #6 by jpm on November 18, 2009 - 6:53 am

    Yes I got that, it’s not for the average motorcyclist. However, they contradicted themselves a little when they decided to use the bike for the ShockinBarack road trip.

    But in any event, irrespective of Brammo’s goals, I am relishing the day when there is an e-motorcycle that can be taken up to 75-80mph and do about 80 miles range (effective, not stated). I own one motorcycle now and don’t want to buy an extra for in town and out of town, or on slow roads and one for the highway. I know Brammo’s goals at the moment are not for a bike to meet these needs. I’m just saying I believe a bike with these specs will have mass appeal! But, perhaps my situation is not applicable to the average person and I’m off the mark. But reading the thread of the BARF forum about the brammo enertia may indicate otherwise. We’ll see.

    But anyways, cheers to Brammo for having the initiative to get the ball rolling.

  5. #7 by Ron Arnold on November 18, 2009 - 7:48 am

    I think that a huge untapped market for the Enertia is scooterists. We already deal with limited speed, mostly urban bike use, and love two-wheeled transport. Combine that with an eco-friendly predisposition (“my scooter gets xx mpg”) and a price comparable to the latest from Vespa/Piaggio and you are going to see some demand. Roll ’em out lads, and that means now. Cold weather testing season is upon us!

  6. #8 by brammofan on November 18, 2009 - 8:17 am

    Hey Ron! I think you’re right that many scooterfans will definitely consider the Enertia. I just read your latest article about cold weather gear for scooterists ( http://bit.ly/2HEV6n ) and wonder how many people (esp. in Detroit) ride in the cold. Brammo and Best Buy have focused this roll out mainly to the warmer climes and I think that they had planned it that way regardless of what season they initially in. I’m in Kansas City and as it gets colder, the cycle and scooter parking section in my lot definitely is dwindling. Do you ride in the snow?

    • #9 by Ron Arnold on November 18, 2009 - 2:34 pm

      Not in the snow/ice, but just about any other time that the roads are clear there are a few of us hard core scooterists out there and no motorcyclists that I can remember in the two years that I’ve been doing the “cold commute”. The coldest I could handle last winter (on my 10-mile commute downtown) was 18 degrees. I’m shooting for 15 this year, with a much higher level of comfort (heated grips, better gear and better technique). It’s worth it just to see the shocked look on the cager’s faces!
      I wonder what the effective range would be of the Enertia in such conditions (and maybe running the grip heat?)

  7. #10 by Steve on November 18, 2009 - 2:26 pm

    Will the next batch be delivered to San Carlos by the holiday weekend, next week? I’ll be back down visiting my folks and can pop in for looksee

