Colorado Fantasy for Enertia Owners

To read this post, you must have three things:

1. Colorado residency

2. A Brammo Enertia

3. Aspirations to own the new Brammo Enertia Plus.

If you don’t have those three things, then don’t read this or you’ll just feel awful about your life.  Seriously.  Stop now and go read something about unicorns and rainbows.

Okay, now that I’m talking to the select few folks who meet 1 – 3, above, how does this sound?:  You could get your new Brammo Enertia Plus for…

Hey!  You! Yoney… get the heck out of here.  You live in Florida or some other hellhole.  You, too, Adamo.  You’re facing six months of cold, hard Illinois winter.  This will send you over the edge of despair.

Okay, where was I?  Ah… yes.  Mr. Colorado-Enertia-Owner-Who-Wants-to-Own-an-Enertia-Plus.

You ready? How does $1605 sound?  Pretty sweet, eh?  Here’s how we get there:

$8995 – retail cost of Enertia Plus

-899 – Federal tax credit

-3991 – Colorado tax credit, you lucky dawgs

- 2500 – Brammo loyalty rebate.

____________

1,605 – out-of-pocket.

Of course, you could, at that point in time, sell that aging Brammo Enertia (please use the Brammo Owner Forum’s Used Enertias for Sale board) for probably MUCH more than $1605 (hello, Legacy Value), and end up with a Brammo Enertia Plus in the garage, and a wallet (or purse) full of cash.

_____

UPDATE: Or, insert the word “Oklahoma” wherever “Colorado” appears, above, and be out-of-pocket a paltry $1098!

Disclaimer – I’m not a tax expert. I’m not even mildly proficient.  My wife does our taxes. Don’t rely on my posts when you make buying decisions.  I might be an attorney but I’m not your attorney.  Most attorneys have no special knowledge about taxes and a majority of them do not practice proper oral hygiene.  I, definitely don’t have special knowledge about taxes.  I became an attorney because I couldn’t stand the sight of blood and numbers were confusing to me.  Do your own research.  Finally, it’s flu season: cover your mouth when you cough or sneeze, you barbarian.

Share

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jeremy (EmpulseBuyer) on October 19, 2010 - 12:06 pm

    I see 2 of these on craigslist, but they are at 4500… I may buy one used. Question is, would i get my plus for 1605… this probably only applies to the original purchaser though.

    • #2 by brammofan on October 19, 2010 - 12:15 pm

      Heck… it might be worth it to ask Brammo about the specific terms of the loyalty rebate.

      • #3 by Jeremy (EmpulseBuyer) on October 19, 2010 - 1:54 pm

        More curious than anything. My wife would kill me if I had 4 motorcycles sitting in the garage. Surprised she is gonna let me have TWO! Empulse and Duc. Actually thinkin of gettin rid of the Duc for something I can race on the track but wont go broke buying parts for. Dont even get me started on Duc maintenance…

  2. #4 by James Schipper on October 19, 2010 - 1:10 pm

    You think Florida is a hellhole? Is that why you hear so much about people working their whole lives and saving up enough money so they can someday retire to Kansas? :-P

    Of course I may just be bitter because I only have #3 of the 1-3 :-(

    • #5 by brammofan on October 19, 2010 - 1:18 pm

      Nah, I’m bitter because I’m not in Colorado. I actually like Florida (a/k/a God’s waiting room).

  3. #6 by Domenick on October 19, 2010 - 2:00 pm

    I totally lol’d.

    • #7 by brammofan on October 19, 2010 - 2:07 pm

      You know I can’t quit you, Domenick. I was going to make a Siler reference, but New York snobs rarely find their way here… unless they’re investors.

  4. #8 by Mike on October 19, 2010 - 2:07 pm

    That’s crazy! How does it work if I have friends in Oklahoma…. can they buy it for me but I get it shipped here (in Virginia) from the factory? …. scheming….

    • #9 by brammofan on October 19, 2010 - 2:14 pm

      I’ve thought about this scenario often. You’d have to come to some understanding with the friends, perhaps pay them the full amount and then, as they are able to apply the advantages of the tax credits, they could repay you. Not sure if that would be legal. Plus, I think the title to the vehicle would have to be in their name until all the tax credits shake out. As always… insert disclaimer here….

      • #10 by Mike on October 19, 2010 - 2:18 pm

        Gotcha. Also, in my excitement, I just noticed that you had to own an Enertia already. Woops! Totally missed that. Still, a super super awesome deal. I’d say totally worth it if you were looking to upgrade and lived in those states. Thanks for the heads up!

  5. #11 by Kelly on October 22, 2010 - 6:50 pm

    Have a hard time following rules, so I read this in spike of not being a Colorado resident, but three years ago I did fly over the State. All I can say is WOW POW HOLY PHOTONS BATMAN! Sell the Enertia and walk away with a new Enertia Plus and a fist full of cash? Incredible. Wait, I think I might have just seen a pig fly past me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

