At Crazy Craig’s Emporium of Enertias . . .

the Brammos are selling like hotcakes.  Provided, however, that you’re talking about a hotcake that once sold for $12,000 and which just got $4,000 slashed off its price tag.

The more I thought about yesterdays stunning 33% price cut on Brammo Enertias, the more it sounded like one of those “Mad Mike’s Bargain Barn of Values” types of moves.  “Mike’s gone MAD, slashing prices right and left!”

Except, of course, Mad Mike doesn’t usually have to convince serious investors like Best Buy that his insanity has a purpose.  Or that current profit margins are enough to sustain an adequate return on investment when the sales numbers increase and . . . Okay.  I’m not fooling anybody here.  I slept through the only Business course I ever took in college.

My point is that Crazy Craig may indeed be crazy . . . like a fox.  He’s no stranger to calculated risks: He quit selling gas guzzling supercars that were providing he and his company with plenty of profits, and decided to produce an electric motorcycle.  Now, with the investors that were required to reach this point, he has to justify these risks. Think those investors are keen on losing money?  Or on waiting until some indefinite point in the future to possibly start making money?  Not likely.

I only mention this “craziness” because it’s about the only negative comment I’ve been able to unearth, following the pricing announcement yesterday.  I’ve been scouring forums and blogs and twitter during the past 24 hours. Plenty of comments sounded like this: “Been waiting for the Enertia to come down in price before I made the decision to buy.  This clinched it.”

Still, you have to wonder, do a few comments here and there result in actual sales?

My super-secret source, deep within the bowels of the Brammowerks, suggests that all signs point to “yes.”

I can confirm a surge in web traffic and orders both via the web and from walk-ins to Best Buy.

Most customers will be able to ride away with a bike…..currently no one is waiting more than 48 hours.

(via the Brammole)

So there you have it.  If you don’t want to have to wait too long, better get off that fence.  I seriously doubt there will be any “Black Friday” specials coming out of Ashland, Oregon this year.

Share

, , ,

  1. #1 by jpm on November 11, 2009 - 7:01 pm

    So, brammofan, are you going to buy one?

  2. #2 by brammofan on November 11, 2009 - 7:19 pm

    Buy one? I just figured they were going to deliver one out of gratitude for my devotion. I suppose I’ll have to answer that question some time soon, but it deserves more attention than a reply comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

